Conceptual Mathematics

Equalizer of idempotents

Exercise: If

f = me

is an idempotent satisfying

ff = f

and

em = 1P

(where ‘∙’ denotes composition), then the section

m: P –> A

is an equalizer of the parallel pair of maps

f, 1A: A –> A

(Conceptual Mathematics, p. 293).

Definition: An equalizer of a parallel pair of maps

f, g: A –> B

is a map

i: X –> A

satisfying

fi = gi

and every map

j: Y –> A

satisfying

fj = gj

is uniquely included in

i: X –> A

i.e. there is exactly one map

k: Y –> X

such that

j = ik

To show that

m: P –> A

is an equalizer of

f, 1A: A –> A,

given

f = me

ff = f

em = 1P,

we have to first show that

fm = 1Am

i.e.

fm = m

fm = (me) ∙ m = m ∙ (em) = m ∙ 1P = m

Next, we have to show that if any map

j: Y –> A

satisfies

fj = j

then there is exactly one map

k: Y –> P

satisfying

j = mk

First, we need a map from Y to P.  Given

j: Y –> A

and

e: A –> P

we can take the composite map

ej: Y –> A –> P

as the map k from Y to P i.e.

k = ej

and see if

mk = j

i.e. if

m ∙ (ej) = j

m ∙ (ej) = (me) ∙ j = fj = j

(since we are given fj = j).

Finally, we have to show that

k: Y –> P

satisfying

mk = j

is unique i.e. if there is another map

k’: Y –> P

satisfying

mk’ = j

then

k’ = k

Given

mk’ = j = mk

post-composing with

e: A –> P

on both sides of

mk’ = mk

we find

e ∙ (mk’) = e ∙ (mk)

(em) ∙ k’ = (em) ∙ k

1Pk’ = 1Pk

k’ = k

Thus the section

m: P –> A

of the splitting of an idempotent

f = me: A –> P –> A

is an equalizer of

f, 1A: A –> A

Tailpiece: An equalizer of two idempotents

f, f’: A –> A

with a common section i.e.

f = me

f’ = me’

is the common section

m: P –> A

True or false? (For some reason, I’m not my usual verbose self :(  I’ll back soon to spice-up the story all the way to cohesion vs. quality of reflexive graphs vs. idempotents via points and pieces functors constructed in terms of equalizers and coequalizers.)

Standard

Leave a comment